New Release - June 2021



The highly anticipated official release of JOYSTICK by The Checkered Hearts is coming to Chicanery Chick Records in the Summer 2021, preceded by the first single, 'My BestFriend's Girl' which will be released on May 17th. Pre-orders for the (6) song ep 'JOYSTICK' will commence on May 17th and the first 100 CDs will be hand-numbered and signed by The Checkered Hearts (Lisa & Hillary). 

JOYSTICK is a collection of classic covers by The Cars, Housemartins, Phil Seymour, Kirsty MacColl, and The Knack. In addition, the release includes a bonus track, a special version of an original Lisa & Hillary song. 

Although Hillary & Lisa have a long history of writing and performing together, The Checkered Hearts came into existence in early 2021 and quickly gained a growing fan-base as well as catching the ear of renowned Los Angeles-based DJ, Rodney Bingenheimer, who has played a number of songs by The Checkered Hearts on his SiriusXM radio program.

 Track List: 

1. My Best Friend's Girl (originally performed by The Cars) 

2. Happy Hour (originally performed by Housemartins) 

3. Precious to Me (originally performed by Phil Seymour) 

4. They Don't Know (originally performed by Kirsty Maccoll) 

5. Good Girls Don't (originally performed by The Knack) 

6. Bonus Song: So Long, Maybe (The Checkered Hearts original)



Press / Reviews promises to be an EP of power-pop perfection if lead-off single 'My Best Friend's Girl' is anything to go by with sumptuous harmonies, fizzing guitars and perky pop sensibilities ~ Ballroom Blitz's Man At The Back

Best Friend's Girl: Sounds like a single that Chrysalis or IRS would’ve put out in the early 80s. Nice reinterpretation. I love the sound of pure new wave. Killer vocals and killer organ part too. Excited to hear more ~ Fear & Loathing Magazine

Image downloads

Click to download

click to download

Click to download